The California wage payment law requires employers to provide a weekly or bi-weekly paycheck stub to every employee to reflect the number of hours rendered and payable amount. Failure to provide a paycheck stub would mean a separate violation.
A lot of workers are not aware of the California law on employee paycheck stubs. Under this law employers are required to provide a number of facts and figures relevant to the paycheck to give workers all necessary information relevant to their employment. Failure of an employer to provide these legal requirements could result in pay stub violation and possibly legal liabilities for the employer.
The California law on employee paycheck stubs requires the employer to provide the following information along with the hourly wage or salary and payment amount:
- Total number of hours works for the pay period;
- Gross salary;
- Total deductions;
- Net wages;
- Specific and accurate dates of work week/pay period;
- Employee’s complete name and last four digits of Social Security Number;
- Employers’ complete name and address; and
- All applicable hourly rates during the specific pay period.
If your employer does not comply with California law on employee paycheck stubs, you may be entitled to receive compensation from your employer. The law is stringent with regards to paycheck. Employees may be eligible to recover $100 per pay stub violation up to $4,000. In some cases, the plaintiff may also be entitled to receive payment for attorney’s fees.
Employers who intentionally violate California law on employee paycheck stubs do not only violate the law but also the right of workers to access their payment information. If you believe your employer does not abide by this law, it is best to contact a California labor law attorney.