Are you having payroll issues with your employer? If so, then it is best for you to consult a California Wage Law Attorney to help you with your problems.
Under the California labor law, employers are required to pay their employees at least two times in a month. Section 207 of the California Labor Code requires employers to designate and post the schedule of paydays for the month. Furthermore, California Labor Code Section 204 requires that wages earned starting the 1st day to the 15th day of the month should be paid not later than the 26th day of the same month. Meanwhile, wages earned starting the 16th day to the last day of the month should be paid not later than 10th day of the succeeding month.
In case the employers follows a different payroll schedule, such as weekly, bi-weekly, or twice a month, when the payroll schedule is different from the 1st – 15th and 16th to last day of the month, then employee should be paid no later than seven calendar days or one week after the end of the payroll period.
The California Wage Law further requires employers to pay all wages, including unpaid overtime and paid vacation, upon termination from service. Labor Code Section 201 ensures that employees receive their last paycheck at least 72 hours after quitting or being laid off from job. In Section 202, if the employee gives a notice at least 72 hours before quitting from the job, the employer is required to pay the last paycheck upon quitting.
Penalty applies for non-compliance or delays with the payment of wages. And these penalties can accrue over time and at each day the wage is delayed or withheld from employee.
If your employer makes it difficult for you to collect your wages, you should assert your rights under California Labor Code Section 204. For specific guidance, consult a reliable California Wage Law Attorney about your concerns.