Is the California Minimum Wage going up?

Posted on Posted in Law

Who knows!

The minimum wage In California has been $8.00 per hour for several years now and I have not heard of any state increase being proposed. Even the thought of minimum wage being increased would be fought by most retailers and service businesses to the death, arguing, “an increase in the minimum wage would drive them out of business.”

Would an increase in the California minimum wage of just $3.00 per hour, really drive these businesses out of business? I don’t think so!!

What can the minimum wage earner in California do in the meantime to make sure he or she receives all of the wages due?

1. Keep track of the time you clock in for work.

2. Keep track of the time you clock out for lunch.

3. Keep track of the time you clock in for work after lunch.

4. Keep track of the time you clock out at the end of the day.

5. If you are working on a combined commission and hourly wage, keep track of any and all commissions you earned during that day.

6. If you are being paid by “piece rate,” keep track of each and every piece you complete per day.

7. Make sure that you are given a writing that clearly explains your compensation from your employer, as to how much commission you will be paid and if you are working on “piece rate” and the amount you will be paid for each piece type. This all needs to be in writing and agreed to by you.

If you are working over 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week, you should be receiving overtime in almost every job description with just a few exceptions to this rule of law. Did you know that you should be receiving overtime on commission and “piece rate”, if you are working overtime?

8. Does your employer require you to drive your own car for business purposes? If yes, keep track of every mile and location you’re required to drive. If you are not being compensated for using your own car, essentially, you are earning less than the wage you are supposed to make. Keep your gas receipts. All of this is evidence to prove you may be entitled to more money.

9. Keep all your “pay check stubs.” Compare your paycheck stubs with the regular time, over time and mileage that you were supposed to be compensated or should have been compensated for. This is all evidence to help prove your case.

My office hears all too often that an employee was under compensated. In fact my office receives between 25 and 50 calls per day, Monday through Friday, complaining of exactly these problems. So, you’re not alone here.

My office, Law Offices of Scott A. Miller, certainly would like to help as many California employees as possible. In most cases, our office works on a “no recovery, no fee” or cost basis. This means that we don’t receive a penny until there is a recovery of money. It is from this money we earn our fees and recover our very minimal costs.

For a free consultation, call my office at (800) 417-2008 or bookmark my website We’re here to help if we can.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *