What is the California Minimum Wage?
The California Minimum Wage for 2008 is $8.00 per hour. What does this mean?
Generally, most employees in California may not be paid less than this amount. In fact, an employee may not even agree with their employer to work for less than the minimum wage of $8.00. Furthermore, if you work over 8 hours in a day and/or more than 40 hours in a work week, your hourly pay would be $12.00 per hour (absent certain exceptions by law). This would be called “overtime.”
What happens if my employer pays less than the minimum wage?
If your employer pays less than minimum wage, it may cost your employer considerable penalties, including liquidated damages and interest.
Feel free to contact our office at 800-417-2008, or fill out the following information and press the send message button. We will get in touch with you soon .
Submission of the inquiry does not create an attorney-client relationship.